Home > Featured > News Release for Delimitation of Dzongkhag Thromdes

News Release for Delimitation of Dzongkhag Thromdes

As per Article 24 (4) of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan and Sections 17 and 86 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, and following from the decision/resolution of the 5th session of the Second Parliament of Bhutan on establishment of Dzongkhag Thromdes, the Delimitation Commission of the Election Commission of Bhutan is carrying out the delimitation exercise for 15 Dzongkhag Thromdes of Bumthang, Dagana, Gasa, Haa, Lhuentse, Monggar, Paro, Punakha, Samtse, Trashigang, Trashi Yangtse, Tsirang, Trongsa, Wangdue Phodrang, Zhemgang.


In accordance with the Delimitation of Demkhongs Rules and Regulations of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2012, the Delimitation Commission is issuing the Draft Delimitation Plan and will be conducting public hearings in each of the 15 Dzongkhags to  provide opportunity for the general public to be heard in person and have their opinion including objections and suggestions taken into consideration in the finalization of the Thromde Demkhongs in all the 15 Dzongkhag Thromdes recently approved by Parliament.


The six Commission Members of the Delimitation Commission will be leading a separate teams to the Dzongkhags to discuss the draft delimitation plan with the public of the concerned Dzongkhag Thromdes. The schedule for public hearings include hearings in Gasa, Dagana, Paro and Trongsa on 6th of July; in Monggar and Trashi Yangtse on 7th of July; in Bumthang, Haa, Wangdue Phodrang and Tsirang on 8th of July; in Lhuentse, Trashigang 9th of July and in Punakha,  Samtse and Zhemgang on 10th of July 2015.


The exercise will not be carried out for the already established Dzongkhag Thromdes of Gelegphu, Phuentsholing, Samdrup Jongkhar and Thimphu since the delimitation of Demkhongs of these Thromdes was already carried out in 2010.


The Delimitation Commission shall be meeting on 13th of July 2015 to review and consider the feedbacks prior to finalizing and issuing the Final Delimitation Order on 15th of July 2015.


Media Unit

Election Commission of Bhutan

2nd of July 2015

Print Friendly, PDF & Email