Home > bye-election > Declaration of the results of Bye-Elections

Declaration of the results of Bye-Elections

The Election Commission of Bhutan is pleased to hereby declare, as required under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008, the results of the bye-elections to the post of Gewog Tshogde Tshogpas and Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa with Polls held on 19th March 2021.

The details of the candidates who have been successfully elected as Tshogpas are as follows:

Tshewang Rinzin, CID No. 10705992941 of Samdrup Jongkhar Toed Demkhong has been not elected having received 14 “NO” votes and 9 “YES” votes with no postal ballots.
The overall voter turnout and registered voter information are as follows:

I. Total Registered Voters = 2195 (1072 Male & 1123 Female)
II. Total Number of Votes Cast = 951 (445 Male & 506 Female)
i. EVM Votes = 832
ii. Postal Votes = 119
III. Voter Turnout = 43.33 %

Further details of the final results are available on the Election Commission’s web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the member elected to fill the casual vacancy shall only serve for the remainder term of the 2nd Local Government.

The general public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 working days for this Bye-Elections starts from today and would end at 5 p.m. of 2nd April 2021.

Issued on the Seventh Day of the Second Month of the Female Iron Ox Year, corresponding to 20th March 2021.



Download the PDF file .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email