Home > Featured > Declaration of the Results of Bye-Election

Declaration of the Results of Bye-Election

The Election Commission of Bhutan, as required under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, is pleased to hereby declare the result of the Bye-Election polls held on 20th of November 2015 for the post of Gup in Langthil Gewog under Trongsa Dzongkhag.


The details of the Candidate who has been successfully elected for the said post is as follows:



Name Photo Chiwog Gewog
Sonam Dendup Sonam  Yuedroongchhoeling Langthil



The Voter Turnout and Registered Voter information are as follows:

  1. Total Registered Voters = 2,009
  2. Total Number of Votes Cast = 583

    (i) EVM = 583

    (ii) Postal Ballot = Nil

  3. Voter Turnout (%) = 29.02


The details of the Final Results are as follows:


result Trongsa


It is also hereby being notified that a member elected to fill a casual vacancy shall only serve for the remainder of his/her predecessor’s term of office as per the Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008.


The general public is hereby informed that the Election Petition Period starts from today, 20th of November 2015 and shall end at 4 P.M. on 4th of December 2015.


Issued on the Ninth Day of the Tenth Month of the Wood Female Sheep Year corresponding to 20th of November 2015.


By Order


Print Friendly, PDF & Email