

तत्रुगामी नर्यगात्र सुद्ध तर्से मार्था

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



Dated: July 8, 2025

(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/CEC-NOTIF(01)/2025-2026/956

Press Release

Declaration of the Results of Bye-Elections in Local Government, 2025

In accordance with the provision enshrined under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) hereby declares the result of the Bye-Elections conducted to fill the vacant posts of the Local Government in the following Dzongkhags.

The Elections were conducted in the **Two** Dzongkhags for the positions of *Gup and Gewog Tshogde Tshogpa* with the poll day on July 7, 2025.

The names of candidates who have been successfully elected are as follows:

Sl. No	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Dagana	Gozhi	Baleggang	Tshering Dorji Ghishing	Gup
2	Punakha	Barp	Sobsobkha_Yuwakha_ Zhikha	Kinley	Tshogpa

The overall voter turnout details are as follows:

1. Gozhi Gewog, Dagana Dzongkhag

Of the **2736** registered eligible voters (M=1,347 & F=1,389), 1367 cast their votes on the day of the poll (EVM: 975 & Postal Ballot: 392) achieving an overall voter turnout of **49.96%**.

2. Sobsobkha_Yuwakha_Zhikha Chiwog under Barp Gewog, Punakha Dzongkhag

Of the **494** registered eligible voters (M= 243 & F= 251), 190 cast their votes on the poll day (EVM:161 & Postal Ballot:29) achieving an overall voter turnout of **38.5%**.

Details of the results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of his/her predecessor's term of office.

The public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Pe	etition Period of 10 days for this Bye-
Election starts today and would end at 5 p.m. on July 17, 2025	5.

Issued on the 13th Day of the 5th Month of the Wood Female Snake Year, corresponding to July 8, 2025.

Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan