

तर्या.मा.पश्चा.पर्या.पर्या.केष.क्ष्या

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



Dated: October 23, 2024

(Eusuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/DoECE/(01)/2024-2025/774

Press Release

Declaration of the Results of Bye-Elections in Local Government, 2024

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB), as per the provision enshrined under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, hereby declares the Results of the Bye Elections for filling the vacancies of the posts to the Local Government.

The Elections were conducted in the **TWO** Dzongkhags for the positions of *Gup and Gewog Tshogpa* with the poll day on October 22, 2024.

The names of candidates who have been successfully elected are as follows:

Sl. No	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Samtse	Tashichhoeling	Daangling_Gangjoog	Sanjog Khaling Rai	Gup
2	Samdrup Jongkhar	Dewathang	Bangtsho	Jimpa Tharchen	Tshogpa

The overall voter turnout details are as follows:

1. Tashichhoeling Gewog, Samtse Dzongkhag

Of the **3031** registered eligible voters (M=1544 & F= 1487), 1299 cast their votes on the poll day

S(EVM: 1055 & Postal Ballot: 244) achieving an overall voter turnout of **42.86%**.

2. Bangtsho Chiwog under Dewathang Gewog, Samdrup Jongkhar Dzongkhag

Of the **631** registered eligible voters (M= 325 & F= 306), 279 cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 134 & Postal Ballot: 145) achieving an overall voter turnout of **44.22%**.

Details of the results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of the 3rd Local Government.

Website: www.ecb.bt E-mail: cec@ecb.bt

The public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 days for this Bye-Election starts from today and would end at 4 p.m. of November 1, 2024.
Issued on the 22 nd Day of the Second 8 th Month of the Wood Male Dragon Year, corresponding to October 23, 2024.
Officiating Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan