

तर्या.मु.पश्चा.पर्या.पर्या.केष.कूषा

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



Dated: February 7, 2024

(Eusuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/CEC-NOTIF/2023-2024/230

Press Release

Declaration of the results of Bye-Elections in Local Government, 2024

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB), as per the provision enshrined under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, hereby declares the Results of the Bye Elections for the posts to the Local Government.

The Elections were conducted in the five Dzongkhags for the positions of *Gup, Mangmi* and *Gewog Tshogde Tshogpas* with the poll day on 6th February 2024.

The names of candidates who have been successfully elected are as follows;

Sl. No	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Haa	Samar		Sangay Dorji	Gup
2	Bumthang	Tang		Chimi Choden	Mangmi
3	Monggar	Tsamang	Baanjar	Dorji Nidup	Tshogpa
4	Trongsa	Tangsibji	Tshangkha	Sanga Dema	Tshogpa
5	Wangdue Phodrang	Kazhi	Baedrog	Gyembo Dorji	Tshogpa

The overall voter turnout details are as follows:

1. Samar Gewog, Haa Dzongkhag

Of the **1483** registered eligible voters (M=684 & F=799), **871** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 655 & Postal Ballot: 216) achieving an overall voter turnout of **58.73%.**

2. Tang Gewog, Bumthang Dzongkhag

Of the **2080** registered eligible voters (M=1013 & F=1067), **1062** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM:810 & Postal Ballot: 252) achieving an overall voter turnout of **51.05%**.

Website: www.ecb.bt E-mail: cec@ecb.bt

3. Baanjar Chiwog under Tsamang Gewog, Monggar Dzongkhag

Of the **324** registered eligible voters (M=158 F=166) **181** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 122 & Postal Ballot: 59) achieving an overall voter turnout of **55.86%**.

4. Tshangkha Chiwog under Tangsibji Gewog, Trongsa Dzongkhag

Of the **240** registered eligible voters (M=113 & F=127), **73** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 43 & Postal Ballot:30 achieving an overall voter turnout of **30.42%**.

5. Baedrog Chiwog under Kazhi Gewog, Wangdue Phodrang Dzongkhag

Of the **217** registered eligible voters (M=104 & F=113), **92** cast their votes on the poll day (EVM: 78 & Postal Ballot: 14 achieving an overall voter turnout of **42.39%**.

Details of the results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of the 3rd Local Government.

The public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 working days for this Bye-Elections starts from today and would end at 5 p.m. of February 20, 2024.

Issued on the 27th Day of the 12th Month of the Water Female Rabbit Year, corresponding to February 7, 2024.

(Dasho Sonam Topgay)

Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan

Copies to:

- 1. Hon'ble Prime Minister, Royal Government of Bhutan, Kingdom of Bhutan.
- 2. Hon'ble Chief Justice of Bhutan, Royal Court of Justice, Supreme Court of Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 3. Hon'ble Speaker, National Assembly, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 4. Hon'ble Chairperson, National Council, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 5. Hon'ble Opposition Leader, National Assembly, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu.

- 6. Hon'ble Zimpon, Office of the Gyalpoi Zimpon, Tashichhoedzong, Thimphu.
- 7. Hon'ble Secretary to His Majesty the King of Bhutan, His Majesty's Secretariat, Tashichhoedzong, Thimphu.
- 8. Hon'ble Secretary to His Majesty, Secretariat of Druk Gyal Zhipa, Thimphu.
- 9. Hon'ble Chief Justice, Royal Court of Justice, High Court of Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 10. Hon'ble Chief Operations Officer, Royal Bhutan Army, Thimphu.
- 11. Hon'ble Chief of Police, Royal Bhutan Police, Thimphu.
- 12. Hon'ble Commandant, Royal Body Guards, Dechencholing, Thimphu.
- 13. Hon'ble Chairperson, Anti-Corruption Commission, Thimphu.
- 14. Hon'ble Chairperson, Royal Civil Service Commission, Thimphu.
- 15. Hon'ble Auditor General, Royal Audit Authority, Thimphu.
- 16. Hon'ble Cabinet Secretary, Cabinet, Royal Government of Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 17. All Hon'ble Secretaries to the Royal Government of Bhutan, Thimphu.
- 18. Election Security Coordinator, Royal Bhutan Police, Thimphu.
- 19. Chief Election Coordinator, Concerned Dzongkhag.
- 20. Drangpon, Royal Court of Justice, Concerned Dzongkhag.
- 21. Election Security Focal Officers, RBP and RBA, Thimphu.
- 22. Dzongkhag Electoral Officer, Concerned Dzongkhag.
- 23. Gewog Election Coordinator, Concerned Gewog.