

## तच्या यो नर्या तस्य स्वर्धे मार्था

## **ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN**



**Date: January 10, 2024** 

(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/CEC-NOTIF(01)/2023-2024/46

## **Press Release**

## Declaration of Results of the 4<sup>th</sup> National Assembly Elections, 2023-2024 (General Election)

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB), as per the provision enshrined under Section 443 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, has the honour to declare the names of candidates who have secured the highest number of valid votes in their parliamentary constituencies as having been duly elected from those constituencies to the National Assembly. The General Election of the 4<sup>th</sup> National Assembly was successfully conducted in all the 47 National Assembly Demkhongs in the twenty Dzongkhags with the poll day on January 9, 2024. The details are as follows:

Sl. No	Dzongkhags	Demkhongs	Name of elected candidates	Name of the party
1	Bumthang	Chhoekhor_Tang	Kuenzang Thinley	PDP
		Chhumig_Ura	Sonam Rinchen	PDP
2	Chhukha	Bongo_Chapchha	Pempa	PDP
		Phuentshogling	Rinzin Dorji	PDP
3	Dagana	Drukjeygang_Tseza	Sonam Dorji	PDP
		Lhamoi Dzingkha_Tashiding	Chandra Bahadur Gurung	PDP
4	Gasa	Khamaed_Lunana	Pema Drukpa	PDP
		Khatoed_Laya	Lhaba Lhaba	PDP
5	Haa	Bji_Kar-tshog_Uesu	Lhendup Wangdi	PDP
		Sangbaykha	Tshering Tobgay	PDP
6	Lhuentse	Gangzur_Minjey	Loday Tsheten	BTP
		Maenbi_Tsaenkhar	Tempa Dorji	BTP
		Dramedtse_Ngatshang	Kinzang Wangchuk	BTP
7	Monggar	Kengkhar_Weringla	Dorji Wangmo	BTP
		Monggar	Naiten Wangchuk	BTP
8	Paro	Dokar_Sharpa	Gem Tshering	PDP
		Lamgong_Wangchang	Sonam Tashi	PDP
		Khar_Yurung	Sangay Thinley	BTP
9	Pema Gatshel	Nanong_Shumar	Yeshey Jamtsho	BTP
		Nganglam	Lamdra Wangdi	BTP
10	Punakha	Kabisa_Talog	Namgyal Dorji	PDP
		Lingmukha_Toedwang	Namgay Wangchuk	PDP
11		Dewathang_Gomdar	Tshering Penjor	BTP

Post Box No.: 2008, Democracy House, Kawajangsa, Thimphu: Bhutan

	Samdrup Jongkhar	Jomotsangkha_Martshala	Younten Phuntsho	PDP
		Dophuchen_Tading	Ugyen Lama	PDP
12	Samtse	Phuentshogpelri_Samtse	Dina Nath Dhungyel	PDP
		Tashichhoeling	Sangay Khandu	PDP
		Ugyentse_Yoeseltse	Dimple Thapa	PDP
13	Sarpang	Gelegphu	Harka Singh Tamang	PDP
		Shompangkha	Tek Bahadur Rai	PDP
14	Thimphu	North Thimphu	Tshering	PDP
	_	South Thimphu	Tshewang Rinzin	PDP
		Bartsham_Shongphu	Rinchen Wangdi	BTP
		Kanglung_Samkhar_Udzorong	Pema Chewang	BTP
15	Trashigang	Radhi_Sagteng	Tashi Tenzin	BTP
		Thrimshing	Damche Tenzin	BTP
		Wamrong	Lam Dorji	BTP
16	Trashi	Boomdeling_Jamkhar	Wangdi	BTP
	Yangtse	Khamdang_Ramjar	Namgay Dorji	BTP
17	Trongsa	Draagteng_Langthil	Namgay Dorji	PDP
		Nubi_Tangsibji	Tashi Dorji	BTP
18	Tsirang	Kilkhorthang_Mendrelgang	Kamal Bahadur Gurung	PDP
		Sergithang_Tsirangtoed	Lhakpa Tshering Tamang	PDP
19	Wangdue	Athang_Thedtsho	Tandin Wangchuk	PDP
	Phodrang	Nyishog_Saephu	Kuenga	PDP
20	Zhemgang	Bardo_Trong	Lekey Dorji	PDP
		Panbang	Lungten Dorji	PDP

As per Section 8 of Article 15 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan, the **People's Democratic Party** (PDP), having won the majority of seats (30 seats) in the 4<sup>th</sup> National Assembly Elections, 2023-2024 is declared as the Ruling Party, while **Bhutan Tendrel Party** (BTP), having won 17 seats in the 4<sup>th</sup> National Assembly Elections, 2023-2024 is declared as the Opposition Party.

The overall voter turnout is **65.6%**. Of the total **4,98,135** eligible registered voters, **3,26,775** voters cast their votes. From the total votes cast, **2,18,273** votes were cast in person on the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) at the **809** polling stations and **1,08,502** votes were cast through Postal Ballots (In-country & Overseas) and Special Early Voting (SEV).

The detailed results are available at the Election Commission's web page https://www.ecb.bt/geresults2024

The two political parties and all the candidates who participated in the Primary

Round and General Elections, 2023-2024 are reminded to file the Returns of

Election Expenses to the concerned Dzongkhag Election Office or directly to the

Public Election Fund Division, ECB, Thimphu within thirty days after the official

declaration of the General Election results. The Returns of Election Expenses

must be filed not later than 8th February 2024 in the prescribed form (Public

Election Fund Form No. 9A (GE)).

The general public and all stakeholders are hereby informed that the Election

Petition Period of ten working days shall start from today and end at 5:00 p.m. of

24th January 2024.

Issued on the 29th day of the 11th Month of Water Female Rabbit Year,

corresponding to 10th January 2024.

**Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan**