

तत्रुगामी नर्यगात्र सुन्द्र स्वार्था

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



Dated: September 29, 2023

(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/CEC-NOTIF/2023/4046

Press Release

Declaration of the results of Bye-Elections in Local Government, 2023

The Election Commission of Bhutan is pleased to hereby declare, as required under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the Election Results of the Bye Elections for the posts to the Local Government.

The Elections were conducted in five Dzongkhags for the positions of *Mangmis*, *Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa* and *Gewog Tshogde Tshogpas*.

The names of candidates who have been successfully elected are as follows;

SN	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Paro	Wangchang		Tshewang Rinzin	Mangmi
			N/A		
2	Pema	Chongshing		Namkha Dorji	Mangmi
	Gatshel		N/A		
3	Lhuentse	Tsenkhar	Artobadeb-Guendrang	Khando Dorji	Tshogpa
4	Monggar	Dramedtse	Zangkhar	Tied Result	Tshogpa
5	S/Jongkhar	Thromde	S/Jongkhar Toed	Tshewang	Tshogpa

The overall voter turnout and registered voter information are as follows:

1. Total Registered Voters: = **4838** (**2323 Male & 2515 Female**)

2. Total Number of Votes Cast: = 1906

i. EVM Votes: = 1317

Website: www.ecb.bt E-mail: cec@ecb.bt

ii. Postal Votes: = 589

3. Voter Turnout: = **39.39%**

Details of the final results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of the 3rd Local Government.

The general public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 working days for this Bye-Elections for vacant posts starts from today and would end at 5 p.m. of October 12, 2023.

Issued on the 15th Day of the 8th Month of the Water Female Rabbit Year, corresponding to September 29, 2023.

Chief Election Commissioner