पर्वेग.गु.नश्ग.पर्घ.स्य.क्र्यामा



ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN

Ensuring Free, Fair and Democratic Commissions of Referendums

Dated: 21st of April 2023

(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/NOTIF-01/2023/1547

Press Release

Declaration of the Results of the National Council Elections, 2023 for the Fourth Parliament of Bhutan

With a voter turnout of 54.64 percent, the National Council Elections of 2023 has set the highest voter turnout record in the history of NC elections conducted so far.

As required under Section 444 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) is pleased to hereby declare the election results of the Fourth National Council Elections held in the twenty Dzongkhags on 20th April 2023.

Out of the total of 89 candidates who contested the National Council Elections, the 20 candidates who have been successfully elected by the voters of the 20 Dzongkhags as their representatives in the National Council of the Parliament of the Kingdom of Bhutan are:

Sl.No.	Dzongkhag	Name of Candidate	VPIC No.
1	Bumthang	Kencho Tshering	10101000051
2	Chhukha	Sangay Dorji	10203002592
3	Dagana	Birendra Chimoria	10309001465
4	Gasa	Tshering	10402000106
5	Наа	Dago Tsheringla	10504000139
6	Lhuentse	Kelzang Lhundup	10605001351
7	Monggar	Tshering Wangchen	10705001959
8	Paro	Ugyen Tshering	10805000505
9	Pema Gatshel	Jamyang Namgyal	10905003448
10	Punakha	Namgay Dorji	11008002404
11	Samdrup Jongkhar	Tshewang Rinchen	11102004457

Post Box No.: 2008, Democracy House, Kawajangsa, Thimphu: Bhutan

पर्वेग.गु.नब्ग.पर्व.र्षेष.क्र्य.क्र्याया



ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

12	Samtse	Tashi Dhendup	11206001217
13	Sarpang	Pema Tashi	11312002863
14	Thimphu	Leki Tshering	11404000337
15	Trashi Yangtse	Sonam Tenzin	11603003344
16	Trashigang	Sonam Tobgyel	11509001442
17	Trongsa	Rinzin Namgyal	11703001583
18	Tsirang	Nima Wangdi	11805000127
19	Wangdue Phodrang	Phub Dorji	11905000395
20	Zhemgang	Tshering Tshomo	12005003633

The registered voters and overall voter turnout information of the Fourth National Council Elections, 2023 in the 20 Dzongkhags are as follows:

- a. Total registered voters = 485,811 (236,739 Male & 249,072 Female)
- b. Total number of votes cast = 265,441 (130,636 Male & 134,805 Female)
 - i. EVM votes = 168,869 (81,156 Male & 87,713 Female)
 - ii. Postal votes = 96,572 (49,480 Male & 47,092 Female)
- c. Voter turnout = 54.64 %

The details of the final results are available on the Election Commission's web page https://www.ecb.bt/ncresults2023/

Upon issuance of this Notification, the National Council shall be deemed to have been duly constituted under Section 452 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008.

The general public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition period of 10 working days starts from today and shall end on 5.p.m. of 5th May 2023.

Post Box No.: 2008, *Democracy House*, Kawajangsa, Thimphu: Bhutan 334851, 334852

पर्विता.ची. पश्चा. पश्चा. ईया श्री



ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

Issued on the 1st Day of the 3rd Month of the Water Female Rabbit Year, corresponding to 21st April 2023.

Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan

Post Box No.: 2008, *Democracy House*, Kawajangsa, Thimphu: Bhutan 334851, 334852