

तच्या यी नर्या तस्य स्वर हैं गर्या

ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN



(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

ECB/CEC-NOTIF/2023/1057

Press Release

Declaration of the result of Bye-Elections and Post Vacant elections in Local Government, 2023

The Election Commission of Bhutan is pleased to hereby declare, as required under Section 457 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the Election Results of the Bye Elections and Post Vacant elections to the Local Government.

The Elections were conducted in four Dzongkhags for the position of *Gup, Mangmi* and *Gewog Tshogde Tshogpas*.

The names of candidates who have been successfully elected are as follows;

SN	Dzongkhag	Gewog	Chiwog	Candidate	Post
1	Lhuentse	Maedtsho	Gortshom_Tsangthrom- Maed	Chedrup Sonam Lhundup	Gup
2	Wangdue Phodrang	Kazhi	Chegidp	Gyem Thinley	Mangmi
3	Paro	Hoongrel	Gaupel	Tashi Tshering	Tshogpa
4	Pema Gatshel	Chhimmong	Pangthang-Redingla	Jigme Wangchuk	Tshogpa

Post Box No.: 2008, *Democracy House*, Kawajangsa, Thimphu: Bhutan 334851, 334852 (PABX),334762 (EA to CEC), Fax: 334763

Website: www.ecb.bt E-mail: cec@ecb.bt

The overall voter turnout and registered voter information are as follows:

1. Total Registered Voters: = **3607** (**1701 Male & 1906 Female**)

2. Total Number of Votes Cast: = 1321

i. EVM Votes: = **1214**

ii. Postal Votes: = 107

3. Voter Turnout: = **36.62%**

Details of the final results are available on the Election Commission's web page: www.ecb.bt. It is also hereby being notified that as per Section 580 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the members elected shall only serve for the remainder term of the 3rd Local Government.

The general public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition Period of 10 working days for this Bye-Elections and Post Vacant elections starts from today and would end at 5 p.m. of 8th March, 2023.

Issued on the 28^{th} Day of the 12^{th} Month of the Water Male Tiger Year, corresponding to 18^{th} February, 2023.

Officiating Chief Election Commissioner