

# นส์ขาปานยุปานส์เฉราลูปสา

### **ELECTION COMMISSION OF BHUTAN**



(Ensuring Free, Fair & Democratic Elections & Referendums)

DC/CHAIR/2016/3601

## NOTIFICATION

The Delimitation Commission of Bhutan is pleased to hereby issue the Final Delimitation Order of *Denchhi Thromde* of Pema Gatshel Dzongkhag.

- 1. The allocation and determination of the *Demkhong* boundaries was carried out in accordance with the provisions of the *Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan*, 2008 and the *Delimitation of Demkhongs Rules and Regulations of the Kingdom of Bhutan*, 2012.
- 2. The number of *Demkhongs* for a *Dzongkhag Thromde* is based on the Section 10 of Article 22 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan which provides that:

"A Gewog Tshogde or a Thromde Tshogde shall not have more than ten and fewer than seven elected members."

and size of Registered Voter population as guided by the Section 7.15 of the *Delimitation Rules and Regulations*, 2012 which provides that:

- 7.15 The Delimitation Commission while determining the size of Dzongkhag *Thromde Tshogde* may be guided by the following considerations:
- 7.15.1 Dzongkhag *Thromdes* with Registered Voter population of 5,000 or less shall have six Dzongkhag *Thromde Tshogpa Demkhongs*;
- 7.15.2 Dzongkhag *Thromdes* with population between 5,001 and 7,500 shall have seven Dzongkhag *Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa Demkhongs*;
- 7.15.3 Dzongkhag Thromdes with Registered Voter population between 7,501 and 10,000 shall have eight Dzongkhag *Thromde*

Tshogde Tshogpa Demkhongs; and

7.15.4 Dzongkhag *Thromdes* with Registered Voter population of more than 10,000 shall have nine Dzongkhag *Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa Demkhongs*.

- 3. As there are no registered voters in *Denchhi Thromde* at present, the proposed plot reconfiguration of the area was taken into consideration during the process of delineating the *Thromde Tshogde Tshogpa Demkhongs*.
- 4. In order to prevent any disputes regarding the boundaries of *Demkhong* in future, these were drawn in relation to the geographical features with the precise GPS coordinates as shown in the Map in **Annexure B**.
- 5. The Delimitation Commission of Bhutan hereby urges all concerned authorities, media and the members of public to own the responsibility to apply and popularize the names of places as spelt out in the Final Delimitation Order in their records, correspondences, orders, public information notices and sign boards at their earliest.
- 6. Public Hearings on the Draft Delimitation Plan issued on 17<sup>th</sup> of January 2016 was carried out by the Chairperson of the Delimitation Commission in Pema Gatshel Dzongkhag to provide adequate opportunity for the public, officials from the Dzongkhags, *Gups* and *Mangmis*, business license holders and land owners to understand, discuss and express their views before the issuance of the Final Delimitation Order.
- 7. The public were also invited to give their feedback on the Draft Delimitation Plan directly by mail or email.

- 8. The views and comments received included:
  - a. The name Denchi to be updated as Denchhi
  - b. Changing the *Demkhong* name from Denchi Baar to Denchhi
  - c. Changing the *Demkhong* name from Denchi Woong to Pinshing
  - d. Changing the *Demkhong* name from Marung to Phrangshing

The Delimitation Commission was pleased to endorse through circulation, these suggestions as on 11<sup>th</sup> of February 2016.

Issued on the Fourth Day of the First Month of the Fire Male Monkey Year corresponding to 12<sup>th</sup> of February 2016.

Chogyal Dago Rigdzin

Chief Election Commissioner

#### **CHAIRPERSON**

#### Copy to:

- 1. Hon'ble Prime Minister, Royal Government of Bhutan, Kingdom of Bhutan
- 2. Hon'ble Chief Justice of Bhutan, Royal Court of Justice, Supreme Court of Bhutan, Thimphu
- 3. Hon'ble Speaker, National Assembly, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu, Bhutan

- 4. Hon'ble Chairperson, National Council, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 5. Hon'ble Opposition Leader, National Assembly, Parliament of Bhutan, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 6. Hon'ble Secretary to His Majesty the King of Bhutan, His Majesty's Secretariat, Tashichhodzong, Thimphu
- 7. Hon'ble Secretary to His Majesty, Secretariat of Druk Gyal Zhipa, Thimphu
- 8. Hon'ble Chief Operations Officer, Royal Bhutan Army, Tashichhodzong, Thimphu
- 9. Hon'ble Commandant, Royal Body Guards, Dechencholing, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 10. Hon'ble Chairperson, Anti Corruption Commission, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 11. Hon'ble Auditor General, Royal Audit Authority, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 12.Hon'ble Cabinet Secretary, Royal Government of Bhutan, Tashichhodzong, Thimphu
- 13. All Hon'ble Secretaries to the Royal Government of Bhutan
- 14. Hon'ble Chief of Police, Royal Bhutan Police, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 15.Hon'ble President, Bhutan Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Thimphu, Bhutan
- 16.Dzongdag, Dzongkhag Administration, Pema Gatshel
- 17. Drangpon, Royal Court of Justice, Pema Gatshel
- 18. Dzongkhag Electoral Officers, Paro and Pemagatshel Dzongkhags
- 19. Managing Director, BBSC, Thimphu.
- 20. Managing Director, Kuensel Corporation, Thimphu.
- 21. Web-Administrator, Election Commission of Bhutan, Thimphu for uploading on ECB website