Home > Final Results for National Council Elections, 2023

Final Results for National Council Elections, 2023

Declaration of the Results of the National Council Elections, 2023 for the Fourth Parliament of Bhutan

With a voter turnout of 54.64 percent, the National Council Elections of 2023 has set the highest voter turnout record in the history of NC elections conducted so far. 

As required under Section 444 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008, the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) is pleased to hereby declare the election results of the Fourth National Council Elections held in the twenty Dzongkhags on 20th April 2023.

Out of the total of 89 candidates who contested the National Council Elections, the 20 candidates who have been successfully elected by the voters of the 20 Dzongkhags as their representatives in the National Council of the Parliament of the Kingdom of Bhutan are: 

Sl.No.DzongkhagName of CandidateVPIC No.
1BumthangKencho Tshering10101000051
2ChhukhaSangay Dorji10203002592
3DaganaBirendra Chimoria10309001465
5HaaDago Tsheringla10504000139
6LhuentseKelzang Lhundup10605001351
7MonggarTshering Wangchen10705001959
8ParoUgyen Tshering10805000505
9Pema GatshelJamyang Namgyal10905003448
10PunakhaNamgay Dorji11008002404
11Samdrup JongkharTshewang Rinchen11102004457
12SamtseTashi Dhendup11206001217
13SarpangPema Tashi11312002863
14ThimphuLeki Tshering11404000337
15Trashi YangtseSonam Tenzin11603003344
16TrashigangSonam Tobgyel11509001442
17TrongsaRinzin Namgyal11703001583
18TsirangNima Wangdi11805000127
19Wangdue PhodrangPhub Dorji11905000395
20ZhemgangTshering Tshomo12005003633

The registered voters and overall voter turnout information of the Fourth National Council Elections, 2023 in the 20 Dzongkhags are as follows:

a. Total registered voters = 485,811 (236,739 Male & 249,072 Female)

b. Total number of votes cast = 265,441 (130,636 Male & 134,805 Female)

i)EVM votes = 168,869 (81,156 Male & 87,713 Female)

ii)Postal votes = 96,572 (49,480 Male & 47,092 Female)  

c. Voter turnout = 54.64 % 

The details of the final results are available on the Election Commission’s web page https://www.ecb.bt/NCResults2023

Upon issuance of this Notification, the National Council shall be deemed to have been duly constituted under Section 452 of the Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008.

The general public and all stakeholders may note that the Election Petition period of 10 working days starts from today and shall end on 5.p.m. of 5th May 2023. 

Issued on the 1st Day of the 3rd Month of the Water Female Rabbit Year, corresponding to 21st April 2023.

Click here to download Dzongkha & English versions of the press release.

Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan

Print Friendly, PDF & Email